MCHR Board Slate for 2018 -2019

Posted June 14th, 2018  |  News

Members can vote in-person at the annual meeting on June 21, by e-mail to, or by phone at 313-579-9071. The vote is YES or NO for the full slate.

New MCHR Nominees

Rev. Denise Griebler, pastor of First United Church of Christ; Richmond, human rights and social justice activist, retreat leader and potter. Denise connects the dots between faith, creativity and justice. She is the director and resident artist at MannaWorks clay studio in St. Peter’s Episcopal Church. Beginning in September, Denise will become the Ministries Coordinator at St. Peter’s. She is married to Bill W Kellermann , now MCHR advisory board member and a mom and grandmom. She has been active in the sanctuary movement since the ‘80s and serves on the board of directors of SIPAZ, an international human rights organization in Chiapas, Mexico. She advocates for compassionate immigration policy and an end to deportations and the separation of families.

Dr Imam Achmat Salie migrated from South Africa to the USA in 1999 with his wife and four children; he has been part of the anti apartheid struggle. In the USA, he is opposed to all forms of discrimination, especially Islamophobia. He is part of the interfaith, intrafaith, peace, environmental, and spiritual movements. He has been imam at several mega mosques in Michigan and Toledo, created a few communities in Sterling Heights and Troy, and Islamic studies programs at Oakland University and UDMercy; he also co-founded the imam’s cohort for the Masters in Social justice at Marygrove College. His academic preparations include degrees in education, business leadership, Islamic legal philosophy, and Arabic. He hopes to work on his post doc at the University of Chicago.

Victor Wheeler is social justice advocate for the returning citizen/formerly incarcerated population and an adjunct professor at Marygrove College. I am currently serving as the Director of Re-Entry Programs at Truth Recovery, Inc. in Inkster Michigan. My passion is to serve our returning citizens as well as those that have substance abuse histories and/or mental health concerns. Our goal is to remove all barriers that may prohibit full citizenship, civil and human rights to that segment of our population. I believe that as a board member of MCHR, I will be a valuable asset to the board and also in serving our community in this capacity.


Returning for Two Year Term Re-election:

  • Dorothy Aldridge
  • Abayomi Azikiwe
  • Sarah Brooks
  • Tom Zerafa
  • Brenda Bryant
  • Mark Cowan
  • Frank Hammer
  • Cary McGehee
  • Barbara Hollie
  • Eric Hood
  • Julie Hurwitz
  • Hasan Newash
  • Barbara Ingalls
  • Bob Ingalls
  • Frank Joyce
  • Kim Redigan
  • Saeed Kahn
  • Jerry King
  • Key Locke

Returning for Second Year of Two Year Term:

  • Christiana Castillo
  • Stuart Daly
  • Adonis Flores
  • Andrew Sarpolis
  • Khurram Imam
  • Barbara Jones
  • Asha Noor